CMT picks up ‘Nashville’

by Sue Guynn. 0 Comments

Now that CMT has picked up “Nashville,” the TV show that chronicles the lives, the music and the craziness that is Nashville in the series formerly on ABC, we can look forward to Season 5  of the show … and the music.


That’s good news for the cast, viewers and, of course, songwriters.

“Nashville: Season 4, Volume 2” released in May (on Big Machine Label Group) with 17 songs that are as varied as the cast of “Nashville” and as country music is today — from the rocking “Can’t Say No to Love” (Will Chase aka Luke Wheeler) to the delicate voice of Clare Bowen/Scarlett O’Connor on “Only Tennessee” to the poppy “Kinda Dig the Feeling” (Jonathan Jackson/Avery Barkley) to the rise-above-it “Soul Survivor” with Aubrey Peeples (Layla Grant) and Jackson.

No videos needed, I already have a visual with this collection of songs from the show.

Top picks:

“Soul Survivor” — Written by Luke Laird, Barry Dean and Natalie Hemby. This is a “Layla song,” she, so far, has been a survivor. Juliette … well we don’t know yet (re finale).

“Kinda Dig the Feeling” — Written by Jaren Johnston, Tyler Bryant and Tom Douglas. I kinda dig the bouncy beat of this one

“From Here on Out” – Written by Andy Albert, Stephanie Lambring and Timothy Bowen, performed by Charles Esten (Deacon Claybourne), and yes you can let the tears fall, just like Rayna did.

So come on Season 5 — the show and the music!

Rating (0 to 5): 4




Leave a Reply